Improbable Phrases

Who says that?

Full Disclosure

I do enjoy well crafted scripted dramas, but sometimes I lean towards some truly ridiculous reality TV. I will gladly watch Game of Thrones or Survivor. This is going to be about the latter.

StarWorld Asia is one of the few TV channels that I can get at the apartment that is in English. They do not buy quality television. StarWorld shows a handful of scripted TV shows, but they’re mostly of the soap opera variety: Mistresses, Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, Switched at Birth. However, they seem to have bought all the reality TV that the Earth in its wisdom has ever seen fit to bring to bear.  In the time that I have lived at the new apartment, I have either watched, or seen commercials for: Million Dollar Listing LA, Got to Dance UK, The Rachel Zoe Project, Fit for Fashion, Master Chef and Master Chef Jr., America’s Next Top Model, Styled to Rock, and DC Cupcakes, not to be confused with The Cupcake Girls which was shown at a different time slot and followed a different set of women.  These are the ones I could think of. There are definitely more. I have only seen commercials for most of these because I have no intention of watching something called Fit for Fashion, or anything involving million dollar homes and the spoiled folks who want to sell them, and so on.

On Wednesday nights right now they show Master Chef Jr. and America’s Next Top Model back to back. I watch these and I order pizza. Every week. I’m not proud, but it’s true. However! I am learning a little Indonesian, since they are subtitled.

IMG_2100

This basically says, “She has two ingredients. It will depend on how she cooks.” Hey! I didn’t say it was useful Indonesian. And I had to use Google Translate for some of it anyway.

IMG_2101

This one I got without Google Translate’s help. “I’ve been here 3 nights? I have to move.” Though, to be honest, he doesn’t look like he’s in a hurry.

IMG_2097

Regardless of the quality of the programming, the pizza’s pretty good.

Comments are closed.